University Row Steering Committee

The University Row Steering Committee (URSC) is the group of representatives from Anchor and Partner schools that are involved in the planning and execution of University Row at the Virginia Gold Cup each year. On the day of the Virginia Gold Cup, they coordinate all events of the day. They are the all-volunteer group that makes the day possible. If you or your school are interested in becoming an anchor or partner of University Row, please contact Dave Timmons ( If your school is already an anchor or partner, either contact your school’s University Row representative or e-mail for more information.


University Row does not happen without dedicated leaders representing alumni chapters in the Washington, D.C. area.

2018 University Row Steering Committee

  • Dave Timmons, Chair – UC Berkeley

Administration & Planning Committee

  • Shannon Cloman, Chair – Alabama State University
  • Forrest Sholars, Ticketing Chair – University of California – Santa Barbara

Host Committee

  • Darren Kinniard, Chair – Auburn University

Onsite Operations 

  • Shawn Smith, Chair – Alabama A&M University

Offsite Operations

  • Laisha Dougherty, Chair – Hampton University


  • BJ McDuffie, Chair – American University of Paris

Alumni Affairs (Chapter & Volunteer Recruitment)

  • William Marshall, Chair – Howard University

Activities, Development & Best Dressed

  • Laura Evaenes, Chair – Georgetown University

Members (partial list):

  • Anagha Kumar (Penn)
  • Andrea McGee (Texas A&M)
  • Charles Schulz (Clemson)
  • Victoria Nguyen (UVA)
  • David Aramony (UVA)
  • Michael Marquet (Florida)
  • Jacquay Henderson (Florida State)
  • Jeffrey Fleming (Howard)
  • Mike “Flip” deFilippo (Radford)
  • Todd Theringer (Harvard)
  • Todd Thompson (Florida)


Alumni Events Alliance Board of Directors

  • Dave Timmons, President – University of California – Berkeley
  • Chelsey Kelly, Secretary – Boston University
  • Greg Merritt, Treasurer – Virginia Tech
  • Mike Hanpeter, Vice-President (Chapter Relationships) – Xavier University
  • Erin Meadors, Development Committee Chair – Georgetown University

Alumni Events Alliance Advisory Board  (partial list)

  • David Burns – University of California, Los Angeles
  • John Fedewa, AEA Founder & past Chairman – College of William & Mary
  • Molly O’Connor – Colorado State University
  • Steve Piekarec – Cornell University
  • Todd Theringer – Harvard University
  • Todd Thompson – University of Florida